THE INAUGURAL N.B.B.O. PLAYOFFS ARE SET!

NEW YORK, August 10 (1857) - The inaugural season of N.B.B.O. baseball concluded yesterday, and that means the sixteam roster for the playoffs to decide who lifts the Tucker-Wheaton Cup has been filled.

All six city & regional championships were extremely close at the top, with each one seeing margins of one to three games between first and second place. In the Coastal and New England championships four teams finished within a week's worth of games behind first place, and there is no doubt that such close competition will thrill the executives who set the entire competition up during the latter half of January.

In the Brooklyn Championship, Nassau County was able to hold onto their single-game lead over Atlantic thanks to a 12-11 win at Kings County in their final game.

In the New York City Championship, Metropolitan held off both Knickerbocker & Orange by a single game since they had a two-game lead going into the final day of competition.

In the Upstate Championship, Victory took advantage of fading form from the other big upstate clubs to take first place by three games over Syracuse.

In the Coastal Championship, Shamrock were the victors by two games over the surprising Trenton United and three over Massachusetts Bay.

In the Inland Championship, Alleghany won on the final day to keep their one-game lead over surprise team of the year Scranton and take first in an incredible pennant race.

Finally, in the New England Championship the extraordinary outfield of St. John's helped carry it to first place by three games over both Green Mountain and Sons of the Ocean.

Here are what the playoff matchups will look like:

NEW YORK LEAGUE

Semi-Final Series: #3 Metropolitan (N.Y.C. - 42-28) vs. #2 Nassau County (Brooklyn - 44-26) Championship Series: Metropolitan or Nassau vs. #1 Troy (Upstate - 44-26) (see below note)

NEW ENGLAND

Semi-Final Series: #3 St. John's (N.E. - 41-29) vs. #2 Shamrock (Coastal - 42-28) Championship Series: St. John's or Shamrock vs. #1 Alleghany (Inland 52-18)

TUCKER-WHEATON CUP

Northeastern League Champion vs. New York League Champion

NOTE: Troy was granted the #1 seed in for the New York League playoffs over Nassau County based on Run Differential (+139 vs. +87)