|
||||
|
![]() |
#1 |
All Star Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,098
|
MAJOR Rules bug...
A pop-up, on the infield with runners on first and second, turned into an RBI single.
While generally improbable, the ump had declared it an infield fly, meaning the batter is automatically out and the runners are prohibited from advancing. Now, I still have runners on first and second, but a run has scored. |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | |
Minors (Rookie Ball)
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 23
|
Quote:
So if a fielder failed to catch the ball and it skipped away from him it's perfectly possible that a runner could have scored. What's NOT possible is that the batter reached base. This is covered under Rule 2.00, Definitions, "Infield Fly." |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Global Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 8,277
|
Noted
TT 1831 |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,845
|
Good catch.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Minors (Rookie Ball)
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 23
|
I should clarify my answer; the calling of an infield fly makes the batter instantly out assuming the ball lands fair. If the ball lands foul, the call is retroactively cancelled. So if the ball strikes the ground and goes foul before it gets past a base, it's just a foul ball, and the batter goes back to bat, even if the umpire called an infield fly.
(this is why infielders should always catch the ball even if the IFR is called - because the ball could spin out foul, or land foul if it's close to the line.) |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | |
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 3,498
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 18,506
|
Claimed fixed!
Steve |
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|